Under the Patronage of H.h. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai

17TH February - 2nd March 2019
Dubai Duty Free tennis stadium
17TH February - 2nd March 2019
Dubai Duty Free tennis stadium
فبراير 4, 2019

كفيتوفا تشارك في دولية دبي للتنس

Photo of Petra Kvitova

Petra Kvitova

دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة- 3 فبراير 2019
أكدت نجمة التنس التشيكية بيترا كفيتوفا، المصنفة الثانية عالمياً، مشاركتها في بطولة سوق دبي الحرة للتنس التي تستضيفها دبي خلال الفترة من 17 فبراير-2 مارس.
وتتطلع بطلة تنس دبي 2013 إلى إحراز لقبها الثاني في الحدث، على ضوء انطلاقتها القوية مطلع الموسم الحالي، والذي شهد تتويجها ببطولة سيدني للمرة الثانية بعد فوزها الأول في 2015، ووصولها إلى نهائي أستراليا المفتوحة، لتقترب كثيراً من التربع على قمة التصنيف العالمي للمرة الأولى في مسيرتها. وبالرغم من إخفاقها في إضافة لقبها الثالث في البطولات الأربع الكبرى «غراند سلام» (بطلة ويمبلدون مرتين)، إلا أنها خطفت قلوب الملايين من عشاق الكرة الصفراء حول العالم عندما تابعوا تقبلها للهزيمة في ملبورن بصدر رحب عبر شاشات التلفزيون.
ولم تحل خيبة أملها من الخسارة أمام نعومي أوساكا في نهائي أستراليا دون التأمل بها لاحقاً، وهذا ما كشفت عنه لمتابيعيها عبر فيسبوك، حيث كتبت: “حسناً أستطيع التأمل بما حصل خلال اليومين الأخيرين في بطولة أستراليا المفتوحة، كان أول نهائي لي في بطولات غراند سلام منذ فترة، ولكن بالتأكيد الأمر يستحق الانتظار، تعلمت أن لا أستسلم، وأن أعمل بجد، وأن أكون أفضل مهنياً وشخصياً، وسأمضي قدماً في ذلك. صحيح أني خسرت في النهائي، غير أنها أكثر خسارة مشرفة تعرضت لها في أي نهائي، وأعتقد أني حققت الانتصار قبل عامين عندما عدت إلى ملاعب التنس مجدداً، لدرجة أني لم أكن أتصور وجودي في هذا النهائي أبداً ”
وكانت كفيتوفا تشير في حديثها إلى الحادثة الأليمة التي ألمت بها في 2016، عندما تعرضت لهجوم بالسلاح الأبيض من قبل أحدهم، سبب لها إصابات بليغة في يدها اليسرى التي تلعب بها، خلال محاولتها الدفاع عن نفسها، الأمر الذي هدد مسيرتها في عالم التنس. وخضعت بعد ذلك لأشهر من العلاج والتعافي قبل أن تستأنف مشوارها في منتصف 2017، لتتوج مباشرة تقريباً ببطولة بيرمنغهام.
ونجحت في موسم 2018 بإحراز ألقاب خمس بطولات، وذلك للمرة الأولى منذ 2011، حيث احتفظت بلقب بطولة بيرمنغهام، وتُوجت ببطولات سانت بطرسبيرغ، والدوحة، وبراغ، ومدريد، لتعود بقوة إلى قمة اللعبة.
وقالت كفيتوفا في ملبورن: “كأن الأمر رائعاً بالنسبة لي، وأعتقد أني مازلت غير مدركة بأني خضت النهائي، إذ عانيت من أمور كثيرة لم تكن جيدة، ولم يخطر ببالي بأني سأتمكن من الإمساك بالمضرب مجدداً، وها أنا أمسك به اليوم، وهذا جيد، أردت أن أعود إلى أعلى مستوى وصلت إليه من قبل، أدرك صعوبة ذلك بسبب يدي، التي لم تتعافى مئة بالمئة ولن تتعافى، إلا أني أحاول الاستفادة القصوى من أدنى شيء، ولكن أشعر بارتياح لأني أقدم عروضاً طيبة في التنس.”
وأشاد كولم ماكلوخلين، النائب التنفيذي لرئيس مجلس الإدارة الرئيس التنفيذي لسوق دبي الحرة، بأداء كفيتوفا وعودتها إلى قمة اللعبة، مؤكداً أن نجاحها في تحقيق ذلك يعكس روح قتالية وتصميماً بديا واضحين خلال مسيرتها، وبأنها ستكون منافسة قوية على لقب دبي.
من جانبه قال صلاح تهلك، مدير البطولة: “تحظى بيترا كفيتوفا بمحبة واحترام جماهير التنس في العالم، ليس لأنها بطلة كبيرة فحسب، بل لأن لعبها نظيف، ومنفتحة وودودة مع جمهورها، وهذا ساهم في حصولها على «جائزة كارين كرانتشيك للروح الرياضية» من الرابطة الدولية لمحترفات التنس، وذلك للسنة السادسة على التوالي، وهو شرف يمنح للاعبة التي تتحلى بأخلاق عالية و تلتزم بقوانين اللعب النظيف، وتُظهر احتراماً للآخرين، وتتصرف بلطف داخل الملعب وخارجه.”
ومن المحتمل أن تواجه كفيتوفا أوساكا مجدداً في دبي، ضمن قائمة تضم ثمان من المصتفات العشر الأُول في العالم، بمن فيهن ثلاثة من الفائزات ببطولات غراند سلام في 2018، وهن: كارولين فوزنياكي، وسيمونا هاليب، وأنجليك كيربر، إضافة إلى إلينا سفيتولينا، حاملة لقب دبي مرتين، وكارولينا بليشكوفا، الفائزة ببطولة بريسبن 2019، والتي بلغت نصف نهائي أستراليا المفتوحة، وبطلتي غراند سلام السابقتين، غاربين موغوروزا وايلينا أوستابينكو.
ويلي أسبوع السيدات، بطولة الرجال وتقام خلال الفترة من 25 فبراير-2 مارس، ويشارك فيها أسطورة التنس السويسري روجيه فيدرر، حامل لقب دبي 7 مرات، وروبيرتو بواتيستا آغوت، بطلة تنس دبي 2018 وحامل لقب دورة الدوحة أخيراً، ومارين سيليتش، الفائز ببطولة الولايات المتحدة المفتوحة سابقاً، وتوماس بيرديتش، الذي بلغ نهائي دبي مرتين، وكاي نيشيكوري، الذي يشارك في دولية دبي لأول مرة.
تتوافر تذاكر البطولة عبر الإنترنت على الموقع التالي:
www.dubaidutyfreetennischampionships.com، وعبر شباك تذاكر استاد التنس اعتبارا من 28 يناير 2019.
لمزيد من المعلومات عن الحدث يرجى زيارة: www.dubaidutyfreetennischampionships.com

Our Partners

Under the Patronage of H.h. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai

17TH February - 2nd March 2019
Dubai Duty Free tennis stadium
17TH February - 2nd March 2019
Dubai Duty Free tennis stadium
February 4, 2019

Petra Kvitova Ready To Reclaim Dubai Trophy

The Czech is certain to be a crowd favourite when she bids for a second title at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships in two weeks' time.
Photo of Petra Kvitova

Petra Kvitova

February 3 2019 – DUBAI, UAE: Petra Kvitova is certain to be a crowd favourite when she bids for a second title at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships in two weeks’ time.

The 2013 champion has enjoyed a magnificent start to the season, recapturing the Sydney crown she first claimed in 2015 and then advancing all the way to the Australian Open final, coming within a set of ascending to the No. 1 ranking for the first time in her career. Although she failed to add another Grand Slam triumph to her two Wimbledon titles, her graciousness in defeat won the hearts of countless millions watching on tv around the world.

Although she was naturally disappointed to lose to Naomi Osaka in their thrilling three-set battle, she was able to reflect on it later and expressed her feelings to her many Facebook followers.

“Well I have had a couple of days (and a long flight) to reflect on my Australian Open run. It was my first Grand Slam final for a while but definitely worth the wait!” she wrote. “I learnt not to give up, to work hard and to try to be a better player and person. I will continue in that. I lost in the final, but it was the greatest loss I experienced in a final. And you know what? I already won two years ago just coming back to play tennis again. This final was something I never even imagined.”

Kvitova was referring to her traumatic end to 2016, when a home intruder attacked her with a knife and she suffered career-threatening injuries to her left playing hand as she tried to defend herself. Months of treatment, healing and therapy followed before she was able to resume her career. Beginning her season midway through 2017, she almost immediately won the pre-Wimbledon Birmingham event, and although lacking consistency she competed well for the rest of the season.

And then she hit a new high in 2018 by winning an amazing five titles, something she hadn’t done since 2011. She retained her Birmingham crown and also won in St. Petersburg, Doha, Prague and Madrid and that set her up nicely to continue what at one time had seemed to be an unlikely comeback towards the very summit of the game.

“For me, it’s amazing, I think I still don’t really realise that I played the final,” she said in Melbourne. “I’ve been through many, many things, not really great ones. I didn’t know if I’m going to hold the racquet again. I’m holding it, so that’s good. I wanted to be back on my greatest level probably as I played before. I knew it will be very, very difficult because my hand, it’s not 100 percent, and never will be. It’s just how it is. I’m just trying to take maximum from the minimum. (But) I feel great. I’m playing great tennis. I don’t think that I could really imagine the time to be kind of this player again.”

“Petra Kvitova’s climb back to the very top of the game is remarkable,” said Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman and CEO of Dubai Duty Free. “Her success in doing so is merely a reflection of the fighting spirit and determination that she has shown throughout her career. There is no question that she is once again a serious challenger for the title here and we wish her every success.”

Tournament Director Salah Tahlak added, “Petra Kvitova is loved and respected by tennis fans around the world, not only because she is a great champion but because she has always competed fairly and is open and friendly with her fans. That justifiably resulted in her receiving the WTA’s Karen Krantzcke Sportsmanship Award for the sixth successive year, an honour that is granted to a player who conducts herself in a manner fitting of a professional sports figure who observes the rules of fair play, shows respect for others and is gracious on and off the court.”

Kvitova could face Osaka again in Dubai as she tackles a field that includes eight other members of the world’s top 10, including not only No. 1, Australian Open and US Open champion Osaka but the other three 2018 Grand Slam winners, Caroline Wozniacki, Simona Halep and Angelique Kerber. They will compete along with two-time Dubai champion Elina Svitolina, 2019 Brisbane winner and Australian Open semi-finalist Karolina Pliskova and former Grand Slam champions Garbine Muguruza and Jelena Ostapenko.

The sensational week of women’s tennis will be followed by an equally thrilling men’s event headed by seven-time champion Roger Federer, Australian Open semi-finalist Stefanos Tsitsipas, defending champion and recent Doha winner Roberto Bautista Agut, former US Open winner Marin Cilic and two-time finalist Tomas Berdych.

The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships, which is owned and organised by Dubai Duty Free and held under the patronage of H. H. Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, begins with the WTA event which takes place between 17th and 23rd February, and is followed by the ATP event between 25th February and 2nd March.

Tickets are available online at www.dubaidutyfreetennischampionships.com and from the Stadium Box Office. For further information about the tournament please visit www.dubaidutyfreetennischampionships.com.

Advertisement
Our Partners